For most people, we imagine a drunk driver to have habitual problems with alcohol and to be irresponsible. However, for many, drunk driving is the result of unintentional poor planning. We have all been asked by that friend or special someone to stay for just one more drink. The problem is that that one more drink, whether you know it or not, will kick in on your way home and teeter your blood alcohol level above .08. So here is a complete guide for what you need to know about drunk driving in Virginia.
Drunk driving in Virginia?
Arrested for Trespassing in Virginia?
Wrong place or wrong time? Doesn’t matter. Trespassing in Virginia is a class one misdemeanor. If you get charged, you could be facing up to a year in prison and or a $2,500.00 fine. So, what is trespassing? Are you guilty? Find out what you should do if you get arrested for trespassing in Virginia.
Should I Go to Court?
If you have an interaction with the police that ends in a citation, ticket, or arrest, then you likely will have a date in the courthouse at a future date. Whether you have an attorney or not, you should know whether you are actually expected to appear in court or whether you can skip it.
Arrested for Shoplifting in Virginia?
Whether it is a misunderstanding, for necessity, or intentional, removing any product from a store without paying is a crime in Virginia and some store personnel take it VERY seriously. They will try to scare you into confessing in a small room with a security guard and try to search your possessions. In situations like this, you need to know your rights and know what to do if you are arrested for shoplifting in Virginia.
What is Reckless Driving in Virginia?
Everybody speeds occasionally, it usually isn’t a huge deal. However, if you are above 20 mph over the speed limit or above 80 mph, it becomes a jailable offense. So, if you plan on speeding home because dinner is getting cold, you should know what can happen if you get a ticket for reckless driving in Virginia.
Arrested for Marijuana in Virginia?
Imagine you are driving back from your friend’s house in Washington DC, as you cross the fourteenth street bridge, you think “Oh crap, my friend left his weed in my car!” You decide to drive carefully back home but end up getting pulled over anyway. They find the marijuana and arrest you on the spot. It’s a story you have heard before but never thought it would happen to you. Marijuana laws throughout the country have been changing rapidly. Unfortunately, it is still illegal under federal law and Virginia is one of 20 states that still criminalizes both recreational and medicinal use of marijuana. Therefore, if you have marijuana and a police officer pulls you over, you could be arrested and charged with possession of marijuana in Virginia.
Filing for Expungement In Virginia of Records in Fairfax, Prince William, Stafford County Virginia
An Expungement is an action that removes police and court records relating to a criminal offense from public access. An Expungement in Northern Virginia is available when the case resulted in an acquittal, dismissal, nolle prosequi, absolute pardon or a case of a name used in error. If a record is expunged the information is taken out of the public record and is only allowed to be accessed by court order.
Assault & Battery Against Family Member – VA Code 18.2-57.2
Virginia criminal code defines it as any person who commits the crime of assault and battery and the victim happens to be a family or household member.
Depending upon the circumstances, the criminal history, and the willingness of the victim to see the defendant go to jail an experienced attorney, through effective negotiation and plea bargaining can have the jail time suspended and have defendant placed on probation without being found guilty under VA Code 18.2-57.3 in Alexandria, Arlington, Fairfax, and Prince William County Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court for your case.