Traffic Law Defense Attorney Law Firm – Springfield, VA

traffic law attorney traffic lawyer fairfax

We can effectively represent you with a strong traffic charge defense for misdemeanors or infractions tickets in Northern Virginia.

Virginia code defines and controls the permitted conduct on the public roads and highways of the Commonwealth through punishing violations by a momentary fines, suspensions, revocations and mandatory jail time for certain violations.

As such there are numerous categories of violation that could result you with huge fines, revocation of driving privileges and jail time. Do not be unprepared and disregard the severity of the possible punishment.

“Being represented by an experienced traffic attorney counts!

Contrary to popular misconceptions about Virginia traffic law, even if you are not speeding you can still be charged with reckless driving. That is to say reckless driving generally (VA Code 46.2-852) which deals with not your speed but the manner and circumstances surrounding your traffic incident that endangered the safely of people and property. But regardless of whether you were recklessly speeding or whether you were generally reckless driving the punishment and classification of the crime is the same – Class 1 misdemeanor. In Virginia there are 4 classes of misdemeanors Class 1 being the most serious.

— Having an experienced attorney fighting for your side means informed and effectively representation to defend you against the criminal charges!

If you recently got a traffic ticket in Virginia, you have two ways to plead by the court date listed on your citation: guilty or not guilty. Failing to either pay or contest the ticket could result in a suspended drivers license.

How can an experienced Virginia traffic defense attorney help dismiss or reduce the charges against?

– Have the charges against you dismissed.

The defenses available vary widely depending on your specific traffic offense and the surrounding circumstances but having an experienced Virginia traffic law attorney ensures that your available defenses, errors, and omissions are not overlooked and are argued in your favor to facilitate the dismissal of the charges against you.

– Have the charges against you reduced or jail time waived.

Depending upon your specific circumstances, your driving and criminal history, and severity of the offense an experienced lawyer through effective negotiation and plea bargaining can have the charges reduced and jail time suspended in return for a favourable outcome for you in Alexandria, Arlington, Fairfax, Loudon, and Prince William General District. Our firm is minutes away from the General District Courts of Alexandria City, Arlington County, Fairfax County, Fairfax City, Loudon County, and Prince William County General District Court traffic law division.

We take on the following Virginia traffic law cases directly from our traffic law firm in Springfield, VA.

The number of years that the conviction stays on your DMV record is in parentheses beside each violation. An asterisk (*) indicates that the conviction remains on your record permanently. Demerit points will also be assigned to your record for traffic convictions incurred in other states.

Speeding – 3 Driving Points

Speeding 1-9 mph above the posted speed limit (5 years). Impeding traffic, slow speed (5 years)

Reckless Driving/Speeding- 4 Driving Points

Reckless driving – failure to stop before entering a highway (11 years). Speeding (5 years). Speeding 10-14 mph above the posted speed limit (5 years). Speeding 15-19 mph above the posted speed limit (5 years). Speeding 10-19 mph above the posted speed limit (5 years)

Reckless Driving (Felony or Misdemeanor) – 6 Driving Points

Reckless driving – speeding in excess of 80 mph (11 years). Reckless driving – speeding 20 mph or more above the posted speed limit (11 years). Reckless driving – racing (11 years). Reckless driving – passing or overtaking an emergency vehicle (11 years). Reckless driving – passing a school bus (11 years). Reckless driving – passing on the crest of a hill (11 years). Reckless driving – passing at a railroad crossing (11 years). Reckless driving – passing two vehicles abreast (11 years). Reckless driving – driving two vehicles abreast (11 years). Reckless driving – driving too fast for conditions (11 years). Reckless driving – failing to give a proper signal (11 years). Reckless driving – faulty brakes/improper control (11 years). Reckless driving – on parking lots, etc. (11 years). Reckless driving – with an obstructed view (11 years). Reckless driving – generally (11 years). Speeding 20 mph or more above the posted speed limit (5 years).

Passing/Driving – 3 Driving Points

Improper passing (3 years). Improper passing on the right (3 years). Improper driving (3 years). Improper stopping on highway (3 years). Changing course after signaling (3 years). Coasting with gears in neutral (3 years). Failure to give way in favor of overtaking vehicle (3 years). Failure to give way when abreast of another car (3 years). Driving through safety zone (3 years). Driving over fire hose (3 years). Unauthorized use of crossover on controlled highway (3 years). Driving/riding on sidewalk (3 years)

Passing – 4 Driving Points

Passing when unsafe (3 years). Passing to the left of approaching vehicle (3 years).

Turning/Backing – 3 Driving Points

Improper turn (3 years). Improper U-turn (3 years). Violation of right turn on red (3 years). Violation of left turn on red (3 years)

Stopping/Yielding – 4 Driving Points

Failure to drive to the right and stop for police/fire/emergency vehicle (3 years). Failure to stop for pedestrian with white cane (3 years). Failure to stop and yield right-of-way (3 years). Failure to yield right-of-way (3 years). Failure to yield when turning left (3 years). Failure to yield to funeral procession (3 years).

Signs/Signals – 3 Driving Points

Failure to obey highway sign (3 years). Evading traffic control device (3 years)

Driving Under the Influence – 6 Driving Points

Driving while intoxicated (11 years). Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (11 years). Driving under the influence of drugs (11 years). Driving after illegally consuming alcohol (persons under age 21) (3 years). Driving while intoxicated – maiming (11 years). Involuntary manslaughter/alcohol (11 years). Refusing blood/breath test (11 years). Driving while your license is suspended or revoked for driving while intoxicated (11 years). Driving while your license is revoked for driving while intoxicated – maiming (11 years). Driving while your license is revoked for driving while intoxicated – involuntary manslaughter (11 years).

Following and Signalling – 4 Driving Points

Following too closely (3 years). Failure to signal before moving from curb (3 years). Improper signal (3 years).

Keeping to the Right – 4 Driving Points

Failure to drive on right half of highway or street (3 years). Failure to keep to the right when crossing an intersection (3 years). Driving to the left of rotary traffic island (3 years).

Lights – 3 Driving Points

Driving without lights/excessive lights (3 years). Failure to dim headlights (3 years). Parking without proper lights displayed (3 years). Inadequate hazard lights (3 years)

Licenses/Permits – 3 Driving Points

No Virginia driver’s license (3 years). No Virginia license plate (3 years). Failure to obtain a driver’s license (3 years). No driver’s license – vehicle/motorcycle (3 years). Failure to have license revalidated (3 years). Learner’s permit violation (3 years). Permitting unlicensed person to drive (3 years). Driving in violation of restricted license (restrictions related to physical limitation, such as mechanical control device) (3 years).

Licenses/Permits – 6 Driving Points

Driving on suspended license (11 years). Driving while your license is suspended or revoked (11 years). Driving while your license is suspended or revoked for non-payment of court fines and costs (11 years). Driving under suspension or revocation before giving proof of financial responsibility (11 years).

Other Violations – 3 Driving Points

Failure to stop at the scene of a crash, unattended property (3 years). Failure to leave the scene of a crash at the direction of officer (3 years). Failure to report a crash, unattended property, less than $250 damage (3 years). ollowing/parking within 500 feet of fire apparatus (3 years). Emergency vehicle violation (3 years). Drinking while driving (3 years). Improper driving/riding motorcycle (3 years). Driving with TV screen visible to driver (3 years). Driving while using earphones (3 years). Passenger restriction violation (3 years). Curfew violation (3 years). HOV violation, second or subsequent offense – Northern Virginia planning district 8 (5 years)

Link:Virginia’s Judicial System